Home || Other Sports || Lacrosse || Xavier beats PCDS for crown "It's all about the kids" Friday, August 22nd 2014 -
The Ledger Logo
Xavier beats PCDS for crown PDF Print E-mail
Other Sports - Lacrosse
Written by The Ledger   
Saturday, May 02 2009 14:41

For the second time in the club’s 10-year history, Xavier College Prep has won the Arizona girls high school Division 2 state lacrosse championship, edging Phoenix Country Day 9-8 Friday at Reach 11 Sports Complex in Phoenix.

Xavier finished the season with an 11-3 record. Team members included Kelly Alston, Christine Auran, Marissa Bouley, Shannon Castrovinci, Kyle Dodenhoff, Grace Flynn, Monica Maschue, Chelsea McLean, Monzie Nackard, Lisa Nicchi, Sabrina Salerno, Lillie Sheely, Alana Smalley, Caroline Smalley, Ashley Stanford, Sydni Talleri, Shannon Turner, Leslie Wankowicz and Emily Weber.

Players from the JV team who joined the varsity for the playoffs included Arden Anderson, Alexis Arellano, Sophie Bucknell, Emily Heiland, Jaime Layne, Alexia Lorch, Ashley O’Sullivan, Lauren Sheffield and Rachel Shank.

Megan Madigan, Erin Meyer and Caitlin Bebout coached the teams.

Members of the PCDS team included Liz Rodie, Lauren Chanen, Maude LaBelle, Morgan Shepard, Rachel Epstein, Laura Moraes, Amber Naumann, Diana Schron, Ayten Salahi, Sarah Bauer, Zoe Simon, Mayan Zeitlin, Aida Duarte, Jessica Ornstein, Nimra Khan, Christina Arregoces, Ashley Sylvester, Arianne Price, Hannah Keogh, Janey Zitomer, Jessica Segal and Rachel Chanen. Managers were Alex Beller, Sophie Boyer and Richie Zitomer.

What is the most important goal in playing youth sports?